The ‘Bajofondo Appreciation’ Post

null

Picture the scene. It’s Sunday afternoon. I’m very tired, slightly hungover, browsing the internet for things to keep me amused while I should be doing freelance work. All of a sudden, through a series of successive links on Youtube, I come across this video – ‘Fandango’ by the then Bajofondo Tango Club (now shortened to just Bajofondo), taken from their 2004 album ‘Supervielle’:

How nice was that? Having done a little bit of research (and by research I mean looked them up on Wikipedia and consulted their Myspace page) I can exclusively reveal to you that Bajofondo is a Uruguayan-Argentinian collective of extremely talented musicians, headed up by Gustavo Santaolalla, a two-time Academy Award, BAFTA, Golden Globe and Grammy award-winner. Composer for Ang Lee’s critically acclaimed 2005 film, Brokeback Mountain, as well as 2000’s Amores Perros, a slightly less well-known film but worthy of mention purely because I love it, Santaolalla’s credentials speak for themselves.

If you can get hold of ‘Supervielle’, and you clearly can because I’ve just given you the link to buy it on Amazon, do; the album sits in a beautifully evocative middle-ground between Latin-infused classical, trip hop, drum ‘n’ bass… if only I’d have discovered this three or four months ago, it would have been the perfect backing track to my summer.

Or, indeed, some overdue freelance work…

James

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment