Introducing…Malic

Sorting through my inbox recently I came across a Twitter notification that ‘k1malic’ had started following me. I clicked through to his profile page and although it said he was a Grime producer, I couldn’t for the life of me find any links. I asked if he could send me some links and right away he sent me some showreels; three in all which I nonchalantly downloaded. That was about 15 days ago. I have not stopped listening to them since.

Malic aka Kitt Bevan has only been producing for a matter of months but already he has honed his own sound. Like Z Dot, he utilises strings to great effect – albeit not as sparsely. Malic’s music evokes that Eski Beat sound whilst still sounding relevant and fresh. While many imitators merely sample ‘that’ Wiley snare for an Eski Beat effect, Malic has a much broader approach; layering polished orchestral strings, deadpan brasses and driving basslines on top of current drum patterns and tempos.

As Logan told me in one of many interviews, it’s always better to rework and edit existing Grime formulas than attempt to ‘widen’ the sound by incorporating nuances from other rap-based genres. In most instances, ‘widen’ is just copying what’s in vogue.

Listen to the below and see what I mean. These beats have an Eski texture to them without sounding like imitations. I tip Malic for big things over the next coming months, he has some projects on the way and I hope to hear him collaborate with some other artists, not just MC’s. His instrumentals are beefy enough to stand on their own. Big up Malic.

Malic – Dont Try It by Threefold_Media

Malic – Bally by Threefold_Media

Malic – Negative Actions by Threefold_Media

Kristian

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

