Royal-T Beat Blog 3

Every month on Welcome To The Fold, Grime producer Royal-T airs rarities, sketches, samples, remixes and other work from his archive. This month, Royal T presents ‘CD is Dead (Royal T RMX)’

With this one I bought the acapella from iTunes, whacked it into Fruity and came up with a nice little 2-Step type beat to go around it. From there I played in the bass melody, built a punchy switch-up to contrast with the melodic intro, and seeing as the acapella was free and I was at liberty to do what I wanted to it, I decided to take a risk and make it a little more ‘techno’.

I’ve received a mixed response so far, which I’m happy about because at least my music is generating conversations and debates and not becoming stagnant. It fuels me to seek out new methods, techniques and styles. With this remix, the techno element came out of nowhere; a complete freestyle.

In a way, this remix was influenced by my first Sidewinder experience a while back. There, for the first time I heard my music in a live environment and it’s made me much more aware of ‘sonics’. I might revisit this techno idea in the future, but for the moment I’m focussing on making music with analogue instruments, branching out a bit from the hard Grime sound I’m known for, but still keeping it true to me.

As a big fan of Tempz and JME, I’d really like to work with them in the future. The original CD is Dead edit isn’t hype or downtempo, but is easy to rework into either style as Rude Kid and myself have shown. With my remix I wanted to show what my influence would be should I ever get to work with them.

The video is jokes, and I think its inclusion in the download highlights JME’s entreprenurial talent. By including the acapella, instrumental and video, he has created his own guerilla remix campaign, for nothing. Big up to him for that, that is the kind of savvy Grime needs.

Enjoy!

Royal T

P.S. As for a download you’re gonna have to wait a bit for that!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

