Teeza Interview – Riot E.P Release Monday 31st May

At Welcome To The Fold, we pride ourselves on supporting and promoting a new generation of Grime acts that we feel are not only making amazing music, but making in their own way and on their own terms. Teeza is one such artist.

Hailing from West London, the producer/MC has been catching our attention for a little while now, with his devastatingly hype (and melodic) instrumentals and punchy spitting. Having appeared on a recent episode of Logan Sama’s Chosen One’s, and with the release of Riot E.P. imminent, we thought there could be no better time to catch up with Teeza for an interview.

Riot E.P – Out Monday 31st May. Available at www.teezamusic.bandcamp.com
Riot Muzik EP Preview by Threefold_Media

Introduce yourself to our readers:

For those that don’t know, my name is Teeza and I’m a producer from the Grime scene and my new release the Riot E.P. is out on Monday 31st May.

Why call yourself Teeza?

It came about in school. It was given to me back in the day because of my DJing style – I used to play tracks and chop them up for a while before letting them drop.

So it’s got nothing to do with you being a bully or anything then?!

Haha! A little bit maybe haha!

You’re MC as well aren’t you?

Yeah I am. It’s not really my main focus, but I do write lyrics from time to time.



Do you find being able to spit compliments your productions, giving a better idea of what MC’s will want in terms of drops or structure?

It does in a way. When I write a beat I sometimes imagine what kind of lyrics, styles or flows will suit it. Sometimes though I just want to make standalone instrumentals for DJ’s and the raves.

You seem to have a wide musical range in your tunes. Both Riot and Secret Level are reminiscent of Dexplicit, however your Air Bubble remix is completely different – all skippy snares and bass. Is it liberating not being tied down to one particular sound?

Yes I think it’s better that way. Since I started producing I always wanted my style to be more rounded. I never wanted to be boxed in or known for one thing as, naturally, that would limit me. I listen to loads of different music, so I guess all those influences come out through me and into what I make.

It is a reflection of me. Music production for me is driven by mood. Most people don’t know I make Hip Hop and R’n’B as well as Grime – you can catch me making styles of music you would never expect.

I remember talking to you on Twitter about UKHH rapper Jehst, an artist I really wouldn’t expect Grime guys to appreciate…

Yeah his rapping is really technical. I’ve always been into that kind of stuff though, the thing is, I’m from West London and so when I started making music it was inspired by the Garage sounds from my area. As the sound changed and got ‘Grimier’ I changed with it. More time I’m listening to Hip Hop though and other music.

Do you play an instrument and if so do you find it helps your production?

I play a few different instruments – I’m not particularly good at any of them if I’m truthful – but it sets me apart from other producers in that I’m making music that isn’t necessarily ‘Grime.’ My music has no blueprint I just make what I like – it might be 140 bpm and have those Grime elements but it will have other elements as well.

I might put different types of melodies on there or mix up some different sounds.

You, Royal T, J Beatz, Nu Klea, Spooky are considered part of a new generation in Grime music, one that is bringing the dance floor element of Grime back to the fore. How do you feel about that?

I guess so. I think Royal-T and I make similar types of music sometimes, we made ‘1up’ and ‘Secret Level’ around the same time in 2008, even though I only released it this year. Yeah I’d say we are the new generation of producers. I’ve noticed that over the past two or so years, the sound has slowed down and gone towards Hip Hop. We are trying to bring the Grime essence back.

What we make now is much more similar to what was being made back in 2005-6.

You recently appeared as an MC on Logan’s Chosen Ones alongside Scrufizzer, Voltage, Dream McLean and Oh No. How did you find it?

Yeah I’ve always liked it! I started writing in 2003 so I’ve always enjoyed set appearances and what not. Logan’s was fun – I hadn’t been on a set for ages and hadn’t been back to Kiss since 2006. It was good to link with Scruface too.

Are they MC’s you collaborate with?

Well I’ve known Scruface for a good 5-6 years and we’ve done lots of collabs here and there. I’ve just done a track with Voltage with another one in the works and I’ve just finished a tune with Dream called ‘Stop Me’ which I think he might be releasing as a single.

We will be doing quite a bit of work over the next few months so watch.

What did you make of Scruface’s announcement he was going to quit?

Ahh he’s just going through a faze man, he’s not going to quit! We talk a lot – near enough every day – about music. People have those bad days is all. I know when he’s at home he’s non-stop recording and keeping active.

Back to the E.P. then, what can the people expect?

Raw Grime. It is quite hype and the tunes sound strong. I mixed them down so the snares and bass punch through with the mids and los.

Is the E.P. a fair reflection of you?

Yeah it gives you one side of what I can do. I kept it quite tightly packaged with the tunes similar in theme.
Will we hear any MC versions of the tracks?

Initially I wanted to do a mixtape featuring 10-20 MC versions of Riot, but everybody’s busy doing their thing so I thought It’d be best to come through with the instrumental. There are a couple versions out there.

‘Jheez’ has got a nice Calypso feel to it, with that steel drum type of sound in there. If you could get a Yardie MC to spit on it, who would it be?

You know what, I’d say Goodz. He smashes it when he spits in that Yardie style. In fact I think he’s probably one of the best Grime MC’s ever. Maybe even Shizzle…

So, the most important question of all. Riot is out next Monday (31st May), where can the people purchase the E.P.?

You can buy the Riot E.P. for £2.99 exclusively from www.teezamusic.bandcamp.com

Any shoutouts?

Safe, big up everybody supporting, Team Supreme, Once Upon a Grime and Mute for the artwork!

Follow @teezamusic
Teeza’s Myspace

Kristian

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

