Logan Sama’s New Blog Launch on WTTF!

ls

We are very pleased to announce that as from today, Kiss FM host and Grime DJ supremo Logan Sama will be contributing an exclusive monthly blog to Welcome To The Fold. Far from a conventional monthly summary, Logan’s WTTF blog will provide unique insight into the Grime scene as well as detailing his encounters, interests and observations over the past 30-or-so days – Grime related or not!

As a DJ, A&R, writer, commentator, gaming enthusiast AND ardent West Ham supporter, there will always plenty to read about! This month Logan talks Estonia, Chosen Ones, Street Fighter and upcoming releases on Adamantium:

Earlier this month I DJ’ed out in Estonia for an event called ‘UKG’ which was dedicated to the spectrum of Garage sounds old and new. It’s always interesting playing in Europe because each country will take different things from the music. In Estonia, as I played my 90 minute set, I could see some people going off to straight up-and-down Grime, whilst the others started jumping about to more Dubsteppy type stuff.

They didn’t really have a grasp of what the Grime classics are, as I suspect they have just started listening recently. But I can really see instrumental Grime spreading across Europe – more so than vocalled Grime – as inevitably, where English isn’t spoken as a first language, it just becomes a barrier. I had a great time and hopefully I’ll be going out there again sometime soon!

This month saw the release of the Palladium/Vice documentary ‘London Pirate Radio’, which yours truly was featured in. It was a really interesting piece and I liked how it went into the history of pirate radio and where it came from. Looking online, the feedback has been really good, not only for the film but for the accompanying mixtape I put together. Vice are really pleased with how it was all received and tell me it’s been the most popular item they’ve made so far!

Earlier this week I held a Street Fighter session at London Bridge and invited some Grime mandem down. JME, Shorty, Solo 45, Score Five and Dexplicit amongst others were in attendance, Dex just edging out Jamie in the final bouts for the title. We might hold a proper tournament sometime soon as there are some half-decent SF4 players in the scene.

We all enjoy playing it and it’s a good reason to get together other than music. I have to say now though that I doubt I’d take the title – I just don’t have that winners’ mentality! I can’t wait for the new edition to come out on April 30th – Dudley is gonna be the guy – his ultra animation looks sick!

Check Dudley Murking Here!

The Chosen Ones show was a big deal for me this month – the four sets (featuring Bloodline, OG’z, Newham Gens, Ghetts, Devlin, Dogzilla, Shrimpoz and Griminal) went well and the online listening figures (as well as the downloads) were really high. The KISS producers said it was a strong look and I can’t wait to air the next show on April 9th. We are recording the sets for it now and all I can tell you is that you can expect to see some promising young talent on there! I’m also trying to get a set recorded with all the Yardie MC’s on it as I know people have been itching to hear that!

Release-wise, ‘Shark Attack’ – which came out on my label Adamantium Music – did well, with some good feedback on the Grime Forum. Next up will be B-Live’s ‘Modern Warfare’ and that will be out as soon as we get the remix done. It looks like single releases is the way to go now – mixtape CD releases (and all the time-dalaying niggles inherent in them) aren’t really the one anymore. Saying that, Sharky’s and Badness’ CD’s will be out soon and once they are out, done and dusted, I’m going to be focussing on getting some producer EP’s released. Watch this space…

That’s it for this month. Next month I’ll be looking at putting the back catalogue online and some other stuff. Watch out for the Newham General’s new EP with Skitz Beatz and my Chosen One’s set on April 9th. It’s gonna be another big month!

Until next time, Keep It Grimy!

Logan.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Logan Sama’s New Blog Launch on WTTF!”

  1. Trevor Says:

    I was hoping that Logan might give us some insight into his hair, why he hasn’t been to the barbers this month, and what’s really happening down at the salon. Nevamind, we wait until next time.

Leave a Reply

