Royal-T’s New Blog Launch on WTTF!

Welcome to the Fold are pleased to announce that as from today, Grime producer Royal-T will be contributing an exclusive monthly blog. Here, he will air to the world rarities, sketches, samples, remixes and other work from the Royal T archive.

We start with his remix of a classic. Ladies and Gents, I present to you…

Wiley – Ice Rink (Royal-T Remix)

Royal T – Ice Rink RMX by Threefold_Media

I made this after I had the original instrumental forever on repeat and became quite addicted to it! It was one of the first Grime tunes that I really, really liked – not just as a riddim but as a song in general. I liked how unorthadox it was, there was no percussion – just Wiley’s noise and space. Despite this it still kept a good rhythm and was just really cool.

To me, it cemented the fact that Grime was a new genre and didn’t have to conform to any industry standard. I used to listen to the 14 minute mix of all the vocal versions and I loved the drops on it. Scratchy’s version of Ice Rink was my favourite, although I liked Tinchy’s and Dizzee’s vocals too (the latter of which I sampled!)

So in terms of the remix, which I did a couple of years ago now, I just sampled all the different parts and brought it up to date. I made it sound Garage-y by using the subtractor bass, but kept the Grimy edge. Nothing crazy, just a bit of an update as I couldn’t take anything away from the original.

I like the novelty of the samples and the orchestral sounds – had it been my beat originaly, I probably would have used Tempz to vocal it! He could ride that halftime and make it punch – just like Next Hype!

If anything I wanted this remix to prove that Grime can stand on it’s own, have it’s own ideas and arrangements to sample from. The best bit about Grime is not knowing where to take it sometimes. So, here it is, raw and unmixed for you all!

Enjoy!

Royal-T

The original Ice Rink.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Royal-T’s New Blog Launch on WTTF!”

  1. Graeme Says:

    What’s your email bro? Didn’t even clock we used the same pictures, I knicked the one I used from Facebook! – OnceUponAGrime@GoogleMail.com

Leave a Reply

