J Beatz Interview

J Beatz is a young up-and-coming Grime producer whose ‘Dutty’ riddim has been all over radio in the past few months. A favourite selection of Logan’s, Spooky’s and Butterz DJ’s, it was eventually vocalled by Big H and became one of the biggest tunes of 2009.

With a bag of work in tow, J Beatz gave us a quick interview to tell us what he’s got planned, and whether he and Big H will do another stomping collabo.

First and foremost, can you tell our readers who you are and what you do.

I’m J Beatz, Grime producer and DJ. I mainly make Grime, but I also do other types of music.

How long have you been producing for?

Since 2006 – so that makes it three or four years now!

What was the idea behind your new ‘1st Of The Month EP’?

I hadn’t released an EP or promo in almost a year. I dropped ‘Have a Butchers Vol. II’ around Christmas 2008 and to be honest I listen back to it now and I think it’s crap! Obviously the levels have gone much higher since then.

I had a plan to drop a promo CD with loads of my biggest beats mixed by a DJ, but so many DJ’s parred it. They never got around to doing it. So I scrapped that, and went ahead with a download EP just to keep my name bubblin’ until my vinyl and digital EP’s are out. I think producers should be putting in as much work as MC’s.

Your remix of Wiley’s ‘Bang’ is a personal highlight. Do you plan to do many more remixes this year?

I just do remixes when I’m bored. I’ll get an idea and I’ll just do it. I had loads of them lying around [doing nothing] so I put all of them onto one thing. It wasn’t a conscious decision to make a remix E.P. To answer the question, probably we’ll see how it goes. We’ll see what happens.

There’s Grime, Bassline and Funky on the EP. Do you like to keep your output varied or did you want to cater for different audiences?

There wasn’t a point where I thought ‘yeah I’ll tap into the funky or bassline crowd.’ Never that! These are tunes that I had lying around, a couple of which I thought were going to get released. The Migraine Skank remix I thought was going to set signed as the B-Side…That’s what Gracious K told me anyway, but it got taken away.

I just had to get them out there – [the migraine skank remix] got 43,000 views on You Tube ‘cos I released it when the original first surfaced.

I have funky on there ‘cos I rave to it. I make what I like!

You produced ‘Dutty’ which of course featured on Big H’s CD Street Crime UK. How do you feel the track was received by fans?

It was received very well! The thing with that beat was that I had forgotten about it! I originally sent it to 9 Milli Major, after I met him in the studio the year before. I sent him some beats and unknown to me he passed them to H. When I got a copy of Street Crime UK I was like ‘Oh my God!” it was a tune!

I started getting love and I now think it’s one of the best Grime tunes of 2009 – definitely my biggest vocal. The instrumental (Dutty) is actually coming out on No Hats No Hoods, on Digital and Vinyl. We are just waiting for the remixes to get done first.

Are their plans to work with Big H again?

Definitely man – I’m on ‘Fire & Smoke’ which should be out in a couple of months – I got two or three tunes on there. I keep meaning to send him more beats. I sent him some, but it turned out to be that fake Big H guy on twitter! That guy messaged me and said he wanted beats and that Logan wanted tunes. I sent them, only to see JME and Logan question the guy.

Then everyone clocked it was fake and I was pissed! He actually rang me at two o’clock in the morning, playing my beats down the phone, on a private number! He hasn’t leaked them yet, but if he does he can go ahead. It’s not going to stop the workrate!

On this blog, Logan said you were one to watch in 2010. How does it feel to have Logan co-signing you?

It’s bless man, Logan has been supporting ever since ‘Dutty’ came out. I used to send him tunes – they never got played but he still used to shout me out. One time when Lay-z was one he bigged me up – I was in bed listening going ‘rahh!’

What are your plans for this year – do you have any CD releases coming up?

Right now I just want to raise my profile, release the EP’s and free promo’s and try cement my name in the scene. I want to elevate as a producer and hopefully get some more remix and vocal work.

Why should people download this E.P?

If you’re waiting for the vinyl/digital EP’s to drop, then download the free EP’s in the meantime to keep your taste buds going.

Lastly, any Shouts?

Big up Magic, Logan Sama, Butterz, J Man, K, all the DJ’s and blogs supporting.

Download J Beatz ‘1st Of The Month EP here

Check his Myspace here

Kristian

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “J Beatz Interview”

  1. madvybez Says:

    big up j beatz

  2. Independent Music Advice Says:

    J Beatz is a big producer and has been for a long time. It’s good to see him turning himself into a business and learn the ropes.

  3. scopedj Says:

    Out J Beatz, Bad boy from North London

Leave a Reply

